Skip to content

Hypocrite?!

August 8, 2010

I would like to classify yesterday as the day from Hades. As I’ve mentioned before, I have a crappy part time job… but I suppose what I didn’t mention is that it’s in fast food. Yes, this aspiring health/fitness blogger (who hasn’t actually put up any relevant pictures of food nor discussed food yet… coming, I promise!) works at Dairy Queen. Bet you never saw that one coming, eh? It’s not so much by choice… and I’m throwing another curveball out there. My parents own it… and have owned two DQ’s ever since I can remember. Basically what I’m saying is that… I’ve been around fast food my ENTIRE life. Yet, when I was a senior in high school, as a part of my “transformation” to healthier living, I gave up fast food entirely after watching Super Size Me. Could I be any more of a hypocrite? I think not. 😀

Anyway, yesterday seemed to just drag on! I came into work at 2 and wasn’t done until 11! :/ I know, I know. It’s just fast food, right? How hard can it be?! Harder than you think. Besides being on your feet the entire time, dealing with customers can get… old. Especially if they’re jerks, which some can be. But you know what? Working at Dairy Queen has really taught me how to deal with people and actually cured my shyness! Sound dumb? I’m being serious! When I first started working there, I hardly considered myself a people person and now I have no trouble talking to anyone. And to beat it all, I actually enjoy it! (most of the time!) I honestly think it’s part of the reason I’ve become so involved in campus life and received several leadership positions. So, next time you knock someone for working fast food… just think, one day they could be YOUR physical therapist. 😉

Moving on.

This morning I decided to sleep in a bit, which translates to waking up at 9:15 instead of 8:30. Not much of a difference but I did feel more refreshed than usual! I also pushed my run back from 10 until 11 and wow. I didn’t realize how much hotter it would be! Yikes! I still managed to get in a solid 6+ miles so I’m happy about it. I especially love running on Sunday mornings because it’s so peaceful outside! For fuel this morning I had a chocolate Vitamuffin. Never had one?! You’re totally missing out. Not only are they amaaaazing (especially for someone who absolutely LOVES chocolate!) but they’re also good for you! Don’t believe me?! Check out these stats–

onlinevitalicious_2119_2752847

Not bad, right?! Try them out! They’re a bit expensive but totally worth it. It tastes more like a treat then health food. That’s always a good thing. Which brings me to my next question…

What’s your favorite “health” food?!

Anyway, I suppose it’s time for me to get ready to head to work. :/ I hope everyone has a LOVELY Sunday. 🙂

-Sarah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

