Skip to content

Can I Come Home for the Summer?

September 11, 2010

 

Well guys, as I alluded to in my last entry, summer is officially dunzo. And while deep down I’m going to miss the HELL out of the warm weather and sunshine, looking back I can honestly say it was one of the most craziest, boring, epic, awful, and beautiful summers of my entire life.

This summer, I learned what it meant to really be a “working woman”. Yes, I’ve worked at Dairy Queen for a while now but never full-time. And while DQ certainly isn’t an ideal job, I did learn a lot about myself there and made some really good friendships that I never would have expected. I ate a lot of ice cream along the way too. 😉

 

image

 

This summer I ran…. a LOT. I rekindled my love for hitting the pavement in a big way. I realized how much better I feel after a long run. I realized that my life is just… BETTER with running. And although my life has been hectic and crazy lately, sticking in a quick run every now and then does wonders for my psyche.

20100820_6

This summer I realized how much fun it can be taking a vacation with your best friends. Sarah + beach + bffs = a good time. I let loose for an entire week and it was incredible. I will never, EVER forget it. We stayed up late, laid out on the beach til the sun went down, met a LOT of people, and drank more liquor than I think is humanly possible.  Good time? You better believe it.

Bachelorette Party 315

This summer I figured out a lot of things in my life that I wasn’t quite sure about before. Who I am, what I’m doing in this world, and how I want to live my life. I’m okay with the fact that I’m a tree hugger, hippie, & left winger. I like that I’m open-minded and can accept people for who they are. I know that I’m meant to help people in this world and if it’s through physical therapy, then great… if it’s not, then I’m happy to go along for the ride. I’m over stressing about what’s in store for my life and ready to embrace the newness of it all.

Bachelorette Party 181

This summer I found out just how precious life is. As hard as it is to talk about, about a month ago I almost lost my mother for good. I never, ever thought at the age of 23 I would have to deal with something as hard as that. My entire life I’ve always just ASSUMED my parents would be around to see me graduate college, get married, have kids, etc. and all of the sudden, that was up in the air. We’re not out of the woods yet but we’re making progress and that’s all I can ask.

image

This summer I realized I’m growing up! One of my best friends got MARRIED! How crazy is that?!? And not only that, I’m applying for grad school! AND I MOVED OUT OF MY PARENT’S HOUSE! Where did the time go? I swear it was just yesterday that I stepped into my first college class and now look at me! It’s almost over!

This summer I marked a lot of items off of my “Bucket List”. One of which was to get a tattoo! It was probably one of the most exhilarating things I’ve ever done just because for once, it was completely unplanned! So unlike me! Maybe one day I’ll post a picture… 😉 I also made it to my first Louisville-Kentucky game! I’ve seen the Cards play several times but not against their bitter rival. I also learned to like beer, took the GRE, and drank a hell of a lot more Jameson. (Yes, my bucket list included drinking more Jameson.. my, what college does to your priorities)

Bachelorette Party 042

I think what I’ve realized most this summer is that this is it. This is my last go around. The last hurrah. I realized that I need to really embrace my final year of college and take it for all that’s worth. Some of my friends make fun of me because I take so many pictures but why not? I want to remember everything. So, for that, my dear friend summer 2010, I thank you. You have certainly been one-of-a-kind and a friend I won’t forget anytime in the near future. I laughed, I cried, I licked a car or two (don’t ask!), I made memories.

20100910_48

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 14, 2010 3:35 pm

    It’s never your last hurrah! Just different types of hurrahs 🙂

  2. September 14, 2010 5:05 pm

    You worked at DQ?! Omggg I would totally eat my way through that job! Hello, Snickers blizzard! And don’t even get me started on the ice cream cakes! ha. Life IS precious. My dad passed away when I was 25. Treasure every moment!

    • September 14, 2010 5:34 pm

      Lol, it took a LOT of self discipline to work @ DQ…. and definitely quite a few less than enthusiastic early morning workout sessions. 🙂

      And you’re so right. If I didn’t believe that before, I certainly believe that now. Every day is definitely a gift. 🙂

Leave a Reply

