Skip to content

Mid-College Crisis?

October 26, 2010

I’ll admit it. I’m beginning to psyche myself out about graduation and my plans for when it’s all said and done. Physical Therapy? Business? Professional Juggler? Why does this have to be SO hard? I wish there was an easy button that would just tell me what I’m meant to do with the rest of my life! UGH! Some revelations in the last month or so have really made me start thinking (obviously!). I LOVE strategic planning and LOVE trying to figure out what consumer’s want. But do I really love physical therapy? I think I like the idea of physical therapy. I think if I were working solely with athletes I could really dig it. But there’s such an unknown factor there that I’m not sure what to do. YIKES.

For those of you who have already graduated college, did you ALWAYS know what you wanted to do with your life? Or did you have a mid-college crisis too?!

(Any advice is welcome! I need it!)

Other than the major freakout I’m having at the moment, I’ve  been trying to focus on living up my last year in college. Sounds good, right? I’d go into details…. but instead, I’ll just leave you with some pictures. 😉

20101023_104

20101023_137 

20101023_168

20101023_185

20101023_219

anna-sarah

creek1

20101024_12

20101024_19

Ahh, the life of a college student. 🙂 I’m going to miss this when it’s all said and done.

-Sarah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 2:57 pm

    I STILL feel like that and I’ve been out of college for over 5 years. LOL I graduated with a degree in Spanish Education, taught for a few years and then decided to stay home when we had our daughter. After not teaching, I realized I didn’t have the passion to ever return. Now I’m trying to figure out how to incorporate things I love (like personal training, teaching group fitness, blogging, etc) into future work. I too wish I could just KNOW the path for me.

    • October 27, 2010 3:40 pm

      That’s why I’m very hesitant about grad school at the moment! I *think* I could do PT for the rest of my life and it’s a really great career… but… is it worth spending major money on school and then regretting it?! Ahh, so many decisions! I just want to stay in college forever! haha

  2. October 27, 2010 4:26 pm

    fun pictures!!! definitely live up every moment during college 🙂 don’t worry too much about grades, they don’t matter in the real world! no one asks in an interview what your GPA was.

    i still have no idea what i’d like to do in life and i just graduated last april. Slowly but surely i’m putting things together: I love the ocean, writing, and business–maybe there’s a way to combine all 3? no idea.

    The main mistake I made was jumping into a job 2 weeks after graduation. I took the job bc it was something i though i should do and to make my family proud. Big mistake. Do something you know your heart is into and when you’re completely ready for life in the real world. Research your passion every day.

    Hope this helps! ❤

    • October 27, 2010 6:31 pm

      you have NO idea how much this helped actually. thank you! I think sometimes I get SO caught up on the salary issue that I don’t think about what’s actually going to make me happy in the long run. 🙂

  3. tra permalink
    November 9, 2010 11:34 pm

    i never knew what to do after college. actually here’s what really happened:
    junior year thought about dietitian
    realized i had too many pre reqs to complete so i ditched that
    i applied for grad school thinking i would just do that.
    grad school rejected me
    looked at careers and decided to go with medical school
    bombed the practice mcat
    thought about athletic training
    missed out on a lot of random classes, and the only program i got into wasn’t accredited.
    decided to go the PA route.
    do the volunteering and stuff. apply to schools.
    get 4 interviews

    so yeah, it took me 3 years after a 5 year stint at UCLA to figure out what i wanted to do. don’t worry about knowing what you want. it’s too early!

Leave a Reply

