Skip to content

Giving Thanks.

November 24, 2010

In the spirit of Thanksgiving (and because I’m hardcore procrastinating at the moment) I thought I would post a list of things I’m thankful  this holiday season. Everyone needs a reminder every now and then, right?

1. Obviously there could only be one #1 and that’s my family. I’m ALWAYS thankful for them but especially this year. Back during the last week of August, I didn’t even know if my mom was going to make it to Thanksgiving. She had a major, MAJOR health scare and it really brought my entire family together closer than ever before. We all had to lean on each other for support to make it through and if it weren’t for my brother, sister, dad, and sister-in-law, I don’t know how I would have made it. I’ve always been a very emotionally strong person but I can honestly say this took a major toll on me for a long time. But, they were always there for me and for that, I’m forever thankful. And my mom has made a complete 360 and is doing better than anyone expected. So grateful. So, so grateful.

20101002_143

This is one of my favorite pictures, period. This was during my school’s homecoming game, in which I was a member of the homecoming court. This was also the first time my mom got to come home and stay in her own house in a month and a half. There were just so many happy emotions going on while this was being taken. 🙂

2. My best friends.  If it weren’t for them, not only would I not have made it through the craziness with my mom’s health but I wouldn’t be the person I am today. They’ve always been there for me, no matter what. And at the beginning of this semester when I had no idea which way was up or down, right or left, they kept me sane. They let me know that no matter what, things were going to be okay. Not to mention that when I had the crazy idea to go out and get a tattoo, they were right there with me. Whether they like it or not, we’re officially bonded for life by a set of stars. 🙂

20101025_14

3. My health! This is the absolute fittest I’ve been in my entire life and I couldn’t be prouder! I’ve worked so hard and although I still have a few more goals in mind (half marathon anyone?), I’m really happy with where I’m at right now.

4. My college. Weird one? Perhaps. But this small college in the mountains has taught me more about myself than I ever could have imagined. When I first stepped on campus as a freshman, I was shy, had no self-esteem, no friends, and no clue what I was going to do with my life. Although I’ve found myself still not having a clue about my future, I can honestly say the rest has fit into place nicely. When I’m with a group of friends (or even strangers) I’m now considered the outgoing one (WHAT?!), I’m very comfortable with who I am and what I believe in, and I can say that without a doubt, I’ve got the greatest group of friends… period. I’ve also learned how to be a LEADER, which I never, EVER thought I’d be. I just always thought I’d be content following but I’ve stepped up and now hold one of the most prestigious positions on campus!

5. Jason Mraz. This man has taught me so much about LIFE and how to live it to the fullest. Obviously I love his music but I think it’s his action that I appreciate even more. He is the person who really got me to start thinking about what it is I believe in and what I’m passionate about. Not to mention he puts on a hell of a concert.

20100921_146

6. Glee. What can I say, I’m most definitely a Gleek. It’s the only TV show I watch religiously. Actually, it’s the only show I watch period. 🙂 I generally allow myself one hour of TV a week and this is it. (Is anyone else as stoked about the Sectionals episode next week as I am?!?!?!)

image

Ok and not to mention I’m thankful for Cory Monteith….. 🙂

7. My sorority sisters. It’s nice to know that I’ll always have a group of girls that I can count on and trust. They’ve taught me a lot about friendship and what sisterhood really means. It has been an absolute honor to serve as Vice President for the past year. I’m so proud of all that we have accomplished together.

20101025_22

8. Charlie Strong for renewing my faith in Louisville football. We still have quite a way to go but he has gotten the city of Louisville excited about fall again! You da’ man!

image

9. My little point and shoot that could. My camera has been a STAPLE since the beginning of my final year of college. It has captured SO many incredible memories. I take so many pictures that my friends and sisters actually make fun of me for it and feel sorry for the day I have kids and they go off to prom. Yikes. 😉 If pictures are worth a thousand words, then I have enough words to last a lifetime.

20101031_9

20101030_19

20101023_185

20100817_24

10. LIFE! Isn’t it amazing? Everyday I wake up and am grateful for the opportunity to make the most out of it. Every 24 hours, I have the chance to change the world. And so do you! Make the most out of this life, you only get one after all. Stop and smell the roses every now and then, dance in the rain, stay out until 4AM with your best friends even if you’ve got class or work the next morning…. just LIVE and LIVE WELL.

20100910_25

“Don’t be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don’t have to  live forever, you just have to LIVE.”

 

I hope you all have an absolutely fantastic Thanksgiving.

-Sarah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

