Skip to content

CRUNCH TIME!

November 29, 2010

It’s officially the worst two weeks of any college student’s proverbial life. The last week of classes and exam week. The two weeks professors love to torture us with projects, papers, and assignments. The two weeks we’ve been dreading all semester long because we know all the procrastination we did throughout the entire semester is about to bite us in the ass. The two weeks we know that will make or break our semester. The two weeks we regret all of that partying we did.

Okay, I think you get the point.

But the good news? There’s a light at the end of the tunnel.

This week alone I’ve got five papers due. FIVE. It’s amazing how I can write blog entries all day long no problem but as soon as it comes to formally sitting down and starting a paper, I freeze up. Luckily 4 of the 5 are about things I’m actually interested in so they haven’t been too bad. Smile The fifth one is an actual research paper (gag me!) so that will require a little more work but it’s not due until Friday so we’ll cross that bridge when it comes. Other than the five papers, I’ve also got sorority reports due tomorrow and an essay test for my online class. Exam week is going to be a piece of cake compared to this!

Luckily I had quite an enjoyable Thanksgiving to prepare me for all of this madness! I ate waaaaay too much but this is the one time of year it’s acceptable. Well, at least in my eyes anyway. Winking smile I loved spending time with my family and not worrying about all of the stress that comes with school for a couple of days. And of course I loved getting up at the crack of dawn on Friday and venturing out into the world of closeout prices and door buster deals. Open-mouthed smile As crazy as it sounds, getting up super early with my mom and aunts to go scope out Christmas presents has always been one of my favorite traditions.

Unfortunately I had to leave a day early to get back to school so that I could tackle all of the work for this week. But a nice four hour drive home by myself did wonders for the writer’s block I was having. Not to mention for half the drive I got to listen to my Cards beat up on Marshall in basketball. Winking smile 

Upon arriving back to my apartment, my roommate decided that before any work was to be done, we just HAD to put up our Christmas decorations. Open-mouthed smile They’re not much but writing a paper by the light of a Christmas tree certainly puts me in a better mood.

20101127_194

 

20101127_199

20101127_209

20101127_212

20101127_218

20101127_231

20101127_234

Finally taking down our Halloween “welcome” sign! And to think I worked so hard on it too! Winking smile 

20101127_248

My roommate’s tree! I LOVE it!

20101127_249

20101127_256

My poor “Charlie Brown”-esque tree.

Overall, it was a GREAT stress reliever. Smile Okay and going out to the bar later that night and getting free drinks also helped… but that’s an entirely different story. Winking smile  (and for the record, I did get up the next morning and run 4 miles so it wasn’t an entirely tragic night!)

Now it’s time to get down to business. I’m turning up the Christmas tunes and cranking out the rest of these papers! To all of my fellow college students out there, good luck! Here’s to lots of red bull and junk food! And if you’re having trouble seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, just remember the celebration that follows. Winking smile I know that’s what I’m looking forward to the most. Open-mouthed smile 

-Sarah

PS—Major shoutout to my Louisville Cards for becoming bowl eligible for the first time since their Orange Bowl victory back in ‘06! So proud! Charlie Strong, you’re officially the man my friend.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

