Skip to content

Déjà vu?

December 13, 2010

20101213_16

Wait. What? No, This isn’t a repeat entry of last week. It is in fact snowing here AGAIN! We’re currently under a winter storm warning in the hills of Southwest Virginia until early tomorrow morning! Surprised smile Yikes! It hasn’t snowed quite as much as they thought it was going to but it’s so cold! And windy! Basically, it’s a blizzard out here!

20101213_13

So what does this mean for me? Well, as much as I hate doing nothing all day (really, I’m a busy body to the extreme!), looks like I’ll be hunkering down inside for the day. I’m suppose to have boot camp tonight but I’m pretty positive it’s going to be canceled. I might pop in a yoga DVD or find a workout online to do, just to keep me sane! Maybe even *gasp* watch TV?! Or a movie?! Any suggestions? I’m totally out of the loop on all things entertainment. Eye rolling smile

So, since it’s obvious I have a bit of time on my hands, I thought I would reflect back a bit on the semester that was.

What are my first impressions?

It was the craziest, hardest, busiest, most stressful, amazing, incredible, wild semester I’ve had yet as a college student. I think I would even go so far as to say it was my favorite (!!!)… which is an interesting notion considering it started out in such a horrible way. My mother was in the hospital for the first month that I was in classes. And it was serious. Very serious. But you know what? As hard as that was, I learned some valuable lessons from that entire experience. The first being that life is so, so, SO precious and that I can’t take it for granted… period. I realized that at the end of the day, I don’t want to have any regrets. The second thing I realized is that I have an amazing support system around me and I’m so LUCKY. My family and friends mean absolutely everything to me and if it weren’t for them, I don’t know that I would have made it through everything as well as I did. They were definitely my rock. And lastly, I learned that my mother is the strongest woman I have ever met in my entire life. I could only be so lucky to end up just like her one day.

I think these three lessons I learned really set the tone for the entire semester. I was spontaneous, I did those things I had always wanted to do but never did, I let loose, I quit worrying so much about my future and just let it come to me, and I just generally ENJOYED life—the good and the bad.

So, what were the highlights?

There are so, so, SO many! From all of the late nights, the spontaneous trips, sorority functions… I could literally talk all day long (and with this snow, perhaps I should?!). But instead, I decided to compile a list of my top 5 favorite moments. When I look back on the fall 2010 semester, these are the first moments I will always think of. Smile And they’re in no particular order.

(5) Getting my tattoo! It’s not necessarily my tattoo itself that made the top 5 (let’s face it, it’s just a star) but it’s the meaning behind that tattoo that made the list. This was right smack dab in the middle of all of the hospital craziness with my mom and I was having a tough time. But my two best friends in the entire world knew exactly what to do. They suggested we go get tattoos (hey, we’re college students… we don’t always think rationally Winking smile). We all went through the process together (and pain!) and got the same exact tat. For the rest of my life, every time I look at the little blue star on the side of my stomach, I will remember that day and those girls and how much the experience meant to me. They will always be a part of me and I’m so grateful for that.

(4) JASON MRAZ! It was one of the highlights of my entire life actually. Red heart He. Was. Amazing. There are just no other words to describe the experience. He has inspired me in so many ways over the years and seeing him in person just cemented my love for him again. It didn’t hurt that I scored front row seats! Open-mouthed smile 

(3) Running my first (and second!) 5K! I don’t know why I waited so long to run an actual race because it was the coolest experience ever! I’m so hooked! I haven’t felt a rush like that since playing sports in high school! It made me feel so alive and present. When I’m running, I don’t worry about what’s going on in my life or what projects are due or how busy I’m going to be. I just run. I let loose of all those things surrounding me and live in the moment. Running those two races just completely solidified my love affair with the sport.

(2) I couldn’t pick just one so I decided this one would be all of the crazy and spontaneous moments I’ve had this semester with my two best friends. From randomly going out to the bar, to crazy chatroulette sessions, to not getting home until 4AM, and all of the McDonald’s chicken nugget kind of nights—they have made this semester memorable for many reasons. I’d go into detail but hey, some things are better left unsaid. Winking smile 

(1) HOLLLLLLLLA-Ween weekend! This was a no brainer. It was the stereotypical college weekend. We went out Thursday, Friday, and Saturday night and to be honest.. it was just FUN. I wish I had something insightful to say about it but I don’t. It simply made the list because it was absolutely wild. Open-mouthed smile Let’s face it… I’m a college senior, these kinds of weekends are important to our health and vitality. Winking smile 

There you have it. My top 5. I could have put so many things on here but I painstakingly narrowed it down to these moments. However, I did make this collage with Picasa (dude, LOVE it!)  to sum the entire thing up.

College collage

There you go. That would be my semester in a nutshell. Crazy, huh? I can’t believe it’s already over! It literally seems like yesterday that I was stepping into my first class of the semester and now I’m on break! Next thing I know I’m going to be graduating!!!! Surprised smile My how time flies.

But until then, I have a wonderful month break to relax and reload. I’ll be doing a lot of traveling over break and I couldn’t be happier. In fact, this time next week I’ll be in sunny Florida to watch my Cards in the Beef’ O’Brady bowl! Smile Oh and I may or may not be going to New Orleans for New Years with my BFFFFF. Winking smile But more on that later.

Now it’s time to enjoy the view out of my window and remember what it feels like to have absolutely nothing on the agenda.

20101213_18

 

-SarahPeace

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 8:13 pm

    I would love to see snow like that! Have fun being snowed in 🙂

Leave a Reply

