Skip to content

Things I’m Loving at the Moment.

December 15, 2010

I have nothing exciting to post. Why? Mainly because it’s been like Antarctica here with temps verging on negative numbers (BOO!) and snow every other day! Seriously, I live in the mountains of Virginia, not Mount Everest. What is up mother nature?!? Freezing

So, that being said, I thought I would post some things that I’m kind of digging at the moment, in an effort to pass the time and keep me sane. (perhaps I should have done this 3 days ago??)

1. New Years in NEW ORLEANS! Okay, I alluded to it in my last post but yes my friends, I will be ending 2010 in New Orleans, Louisiana with my best friend in the entire world and about 30 other friends of mine. I’m still trying to decide whether this is actually a good thing or bad. I’ve had several people tell me that they hope I survive NOLA to even make 2011. Winking smile Ohhhh ye of little faith. Just because you’re putting me and my best friend in one of the craaaaziest cities in the US on one of the craaaaaziest holidays of the year doesn’t mean we won’t make it out alive…. or does it? I guess we’ll find out. (oh and can I just mention that the ACTUAL reason we’re going down there is for a national flag football tournament…. ha, yeah. Because that’s exactly what I want to do in NOLA)

 

2. FIVE days in Sunny Florida! My dad is king of last second decisions and has decided that because Louisville football made it to a bowl game for the first time since their Orange Bowl victory (or as we fans like to call it, our “glory days”), we would drive down to St. Pete and watch them play. Of course. And I mean, come on. It’s 10 degrees here. Who am I to complain? Long drive? Yes. Seventy degrees? Ohhhh heck yes. Worth it? You better believe it. GO CARDS!

 

3. Boots!!!!!! Why has no one explained to me the awesome-ness that are boots?! I’m literally obsessed! I happen to know for a fact that I will be seeing these under my Christmas tree next Saturday… Smile

Excited MIGHT be an understatement! Open-mouthed smile Oh and I may or may not have purchased a pair of rain boots yesterday as well. But in my defense, they were only $13 AND they actually fit! When you have big feet like I do, you take what you can get! (Size 12 anyone?!?!)

4. CHRISTMAS!! AHH! I feel like a kid again! This is the most Christmas spirit I’ve had in a lonnnng time! I have to admit, usually exams kind of zap any holiday mood I’d like to even think of having… but not this year. Party smile 

Maybe it was decorating our apartment?

Or maybe it’s the Christmas Tree in my room?

Or my sorority Christmas party?

Or decorating stockings with my roommate?

Or *gasp*… maybe even the snow?!

Whatever it is, I’m grateful for it. I feel like a kid again! In love

5. Along the same lines as #4, I’m LOVING Christmas music right now! What are my top 5 favorites? Funny you should ask…. Smile
(5) Winter Wonderland – Jason Mraz’s version (!)
(4) Hawaiian Christmas Song (Mele Kalikimaka) – Bing Crosby & the Andrews Sisters (does anyone else automatically think of Christmas Vacation when they hear this song?!)
(3) Happy Xmas (War is Over) – John Lennon (it’s the Hippie inside of me)
(2) Baby It’s Cold Outside – Dean Martin
(1) Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas – Frank Sinatra

I’m a firm believer in classic Christmas songs. With the exception of Jason Mraz (because he’s ALWAYS an exception in my book Winking smile), the older the better.

6. BAKING! Apparently snow puts me in the baking mood? Over the past week, I’ve made dough balls (delish!), flourless chocolate cake (complements of Jenna), and oatmeal/choco-chip/PB cookies (basically everything I had in the kitchen at the time). My taste buds approve, my waistline however does not. Reason #1091384 I will be hitting the dreadmill this afternoon along with a round of boot camp. Smile

7. Discovering new blogs! With all of this time on my hands, I’ve found so many new blogs to follow! LOVE it. I’m obsessed!

8. Searching for new planners! This would be my geekier side coming out. I have a sick obsession with my planner. Like, really sick. Don’t believe me? There are pictures to prove it.

Told you. It’s ridiculous. That being said, it’s a big deal to pick out a new one! I’m having anxiety over it… literally! What kind do I go for?! Right now I’m thinking of converting to a moleskin. Ahh. Decisions, decisions.

9. Top Chef All-Stars!!!!  This is why I have missed being able to watch TV on a regular basis! I absolutely LOVE Top Chef! And bringing some of my favorites back for one competition? Yes please. I don’t care what anyone says, Fabio will forever be my favorite contestant. And I know a lot of people hate him, but I freaking love Dale too (the newer one, not the one from like, season 1 or 2).

10. And finally….. SLEEPING! I’ve been sleeping in until 8:30 every morning. I’ve been going to bed at a decent hour. This is pretty fantastic.

There you have it. The top 10 things I’m loving at the moment. What about you?

What are you LOVING about life right now?!

And for the sake of the holiday season, I’ll leave you with this gem. Smile

Jason MRAZ!

 

Not necessarily a classic version but like I said, Mraz is always the exception. Smile

-SarahPeace

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 3:12 pm

    You have soooo much fun stuff to look forward to!!!!!! Wowie 🙂 I am like you with my planner hahah, it’s so fun! I like get depressed when I throw it away before the next sememster but get all excited to play with a new one :p In Pittsburgh, we have a TON of snow and it’s cold as well, but I’m used to it. I can’t imagine how cold VA must feel for people who live there! Keep warm :o)

    • December 16, 2010 4:42 pm

      Yeah! I LOVE working on my planner! It’s usually my stress reliever before the week ahead! 😀
      And we’re pretty use to snow in the part of VA where I live…. just not so much and allllll the time. I don’t know how you guys do it! I’m so over it… but then again, I’m definitely a warm weather person at heart!

Leave a Reply

