Skip to content

See Sarah Make Unhealthy Delicious Treats

December 24, 2010

First of all…

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVE!

 

20101214_3

I’m not really sure how this holiday snuck up on me as fast as it did.. but man. I can’t believe tomorrow is Christmas! I have SO much to do before then!

Are you ready for Christmas tomorrow?!

I’m slowly but SURELY getting there. I had a flash of brilliance last night (okay, or something like it) and figured out the perfect gift for my sister, so I’m not stressing AS much. And I was up until 1AM last night getting prepped for today so I’m feeling a LITTLE better about the holiday. Smile 

What are your plans for the holiday weekend?

I’ll be heading out later this afternoon for Louisville, Kentucky to spend Christmas with my entire family at my grandmother’s house. It’s one of those times I look forward to every year. I have the best family in the world and absolutely LOVE spending time with them. We’re a little like the Griswold family at times but hey, there’s no shame in our game. Winking smile 

image

Source

So, now onto the real reason behind this post.

As you’ve probably gathered by now, I’m a college student to the extreme. I have no cooking skills whatsoever, I live off of whatever can fit into the microwave, and have a serious affinity for anything involving chocolate. But that being said, I do love to make delicious treats during the holiday season. And what I’m about to show you will blow your mind.

Okay. That might be taking it a little too far but the “recipe” below is so legit it’s not even funny. I’m not really sure where this idea came from but it’s been floating around my sorority for years now and whenever we have a bake sale, these sell out within minutes. No joke!

And the best part? All you need is a refrigerator and microwave. Now if that’s not college student friendly then I don’t know what is.

I will warn you—these take a little bit of dirty work. But it’s so worth in the end. I promise you.

So now ladies and gentlemen, I present you with…

OREO BALLS!

oreoballs

What you need:

  • One package of Oreos (I generally use double stuffed but it doesn’t matter)
  • One package of Cream Cheese
  • White Melting Chocolate

20101224_4

Yep, that’s it! Told you it was easy!

So, the first step is to crush your Oreos. I usually pour them into a plastic bag and take out my aggression on them that way but because I’m a college student and suck at life, I had to pour them into a bowl and use a potato smasher. Confused smile

20101224_5–>20101224_6

Next is where it starts to get a littttttttle bit messy. If you’re not into “handy” work (too cheesey?) then I suggest you get a pair of gloves.

After letting the cream cheese sit out for a while and get to room temp, slice it and put it into the bowl with the crushed Oreos.

20101224_12

And now the fun part! Using your hands, mix it allllllll together. Open-mouthed smile It will totally take you back to your childhood. Or something like it.

20101224_13–>20101224_14

20101224_15

Now THAT’S what I’m talking about. A little hard work never hurt anyone. Winking smile Feel free to lick your hands after this step. It’s quite delicious.

Once you have it thoroughly mixed together, it’s time to get to the white chocolate. Or whatever chocolate you prefer. But I must say, white is definitely the best for this.

Melt whatever chocolate floats your boat.

20101224_16–>20101224_20

20101224_18–>20101224_22

And why yes, we do have a lion on our microwave and horrid retro wood paneled walls in our kitchen. I promise our apartment is cute besides that though! Open-mouthed smile 

Now to the fun part! If you have an ice cream scoop, it would definitely come in handy but if not, your hands will work just fine again.

20101224_23

Using your ice cream scoop or your hands (bet you can’t guess what I used), take the Oreo/cream cheese mixture and form it into balls and then dip in the white chocolate!

20101224_24–>20101224_25

20101224_26–>20101224_27

And viola!

That’s IT! Forrrrrreal! And they’re totally DELISH!

Once you’re done dipping the balls, I generally stick them in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes. You don’t have to but I think they taste better chilled.

20101224_33

(typical college refrigerator.. no food and alcohol… don’t judge…… Winking smile)

This generally makes about 20-25 balls, depending on how big they are (that’s what she said).

There you have it! Seriously, you definitely need to try these. They’ll be a hit, I promise! They’re rich but ohhhhhh so good. I may or may not have had 3 for breakfast…. Open-mouthed smile

And that concludes my first (and probably only) segment of “See Sarah Make Something Besides Pure Chaos”.

Tune in next time for my first ever Holiday recap. It’s sure to be crazy.

-SarahPeace

PS—In all seriousness, I hope each of you have a joyous holiday weekend. Eat lots of great food, enjoy the company of your family, overload on Christmas music.. do it all. There’s a reason this is called the most wonderful time of the year.

happyholidays

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2010 3:19 pm

    Wow – those oreo balls look amazing! I’ve seen all kinds of oreo treats – but never ones like this before. I’ll have to give it a try – they look so easy! Hope you have a Merry Christmas!

    • December 24, 2010 4:34 pm

      You definitely have to try them! They’re a little messy to make but so easy and SO worth it. 🙂
      Merry Christmas to you as well! 😀

  2. December 24, 2010 3:23 pm

    I was up late too! I took my cookies out of the oven at 1 and forgot they had to cool. Then I couldn’t fall asleep, so I read until 2… woke up at 6:30 to go to the gym… now it’s 7:30 and I still haven’t gone 🙂 Merry Christmas Eve!

  3. December 24, 2010 3:48 pm

    Lovely blog! Happy Holidays 🙂 I was going to bake late last night too…but then I knew I’d just be eating it – while making it! 😉

  4. December 24, 2010 11:50 pm

    Oh how exciting! Didn’t realize you were from Louisville! Have a safe trip home and a very Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

