Skip to content

Wait. It’s 2011?

January 3, 2011

Where has the time gone? How is it that it’s already 2011? How is it that yet again, my life is completely different than it was 365 days ago? How am I lucky enough to be able to say that this has been one of the greatest years of my life?

Bachelorette Party 300

I’m not sure I really know the answers to these questions but what I do know is that I’m sad to see 2010 go. It was a hell of a year. It had moments of absolute brilliance, moments of complete frustration, moments of heart break, moments of pure and utter joy, moments of revelation, and moments when I realized that life is so, so, so good.

I learned more about myself in the last 365 days than I think I have in all of the previous years of my life combined. And I realized I really like that person. I’m not ashamed of the fact that I enjoy wearing colorful socks. Or that I have a sick obsession with peace signs. Or that I’ve come to the conclusion that the career I thought I wanted may in fact not be what I want at all anymore.

20100128_14

I’ve done things I never thought I’d do. I was bold and got tattoo. I danced on stage in New Orleans. I moved out of my parents house. I became president of two prominent student organizations. I got up in front of a room full of important people and gave an impromptu speech. I touched Jason Mraz’s hand Winking smile. I ran races!  I STARTED A BLOG.

20100412_28

I had a few low moments. I almost lost my mother. I realized that I have some food issues deep down that I need to deal with. I questioned my future (and still continue to) and what I want to get out of life.

20101220_131

 

I learned that I have a support system that is beyond amazing. I learned that best friends really due cure pretty much anything. I learned that my family means everything to me.

20100515_45

But most of all, what 2010 taught me is that it’s okay to dance every now and then. It’s okay to be spontaneous. It’s okay to sneak out at 3 in the morning to see a guy you just met. Dresses really aren’t bad at all. Singing karaoke is legit. Skinny jeans really do make your butt look good. Being crazy with your best friends never gets old. NEVER.

20100515_13

 

20100901_22

20100910_48

So here’s to you 2010. Thank you for teaching me how to Dougie… err, I mean how to appreciate everything around me. For teaching me more about life and constantly reminding me to stop and smell the proverbial roses (I can’t smell!). For teaching me that LIFE IS GOOD.

pyramid

And, in closing,  as I liked to point out to everyone I came in contact with on Bourbon Street on NYE—CONGRATULIONS! YOU DID IT! YOU MADE IT TO 2011! Winking smile 

-SarahPeace

PS—Was going to make this a post about my goals for the New Year but decided to hold off until Tuesday!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2011 3:37 pm

    This post was so sweet! Sounds like your 2010 was quite adventurous and full of life! Hope your 2011 is just as great, if not better!

  2. January 3, 2011 3:46 pm

    Wow, what a year! I also had some great times as well as some pretty scary low-points. I just hope 2011 isn’t quite as much of a roller-coaster as 2010! I would enjoy some “boring” days ; )

  3. January 3, 2011 6:31 pm

    Your year looks awesome! 2011 will be great too. I can’t wait to hear your goals!

  4. Jessica permalink
    January 4, 2011 2:27 pm

    Happy New Year! I feel like I learnt the most about myself (so far!) in 2010 too.
    Looking forward to reading all about your goals for the year! 🙂

    Hope you have a lovely week!

Leave a Reply

