Skip to content

2011. Bring It.

January 4, 2011

So, I’m a few days late with my goals (more like 4 to be exact) but nonetheless, I think I’ve come up with some pretty doable ones this time around. In years past, I’ve made these drastic “I’m going to lose 309234098234 pounds, save the whales, promote peace on earth, feed the children” type of goals but let’s be realistic, it’s quite impossible to lose that much weight, whales freak me out, the only peace I’m promoting is through two fingers, and I barely know how to feed myself, let alone malnutritioned kids. That being said, I took a step back this year and decided to make more open-ended goals that have room for flexibility. I’m a very “go-with-the-flow” type of person and need goals that are going to coincide with that personality trait. And you know what? By God I think I did it.

So, without further ado, I present to you….

SEE SARAH SET GOALS—2011 EDITION

1. BE BOLD! So many times I step back and get content with just fitting in but I want to change that. I want to speak my mind more, throw my opinions out there more, and be PRESENT to life more.

2. LIVE UP MY LAST SEMESTER IN UNDERGRAD! I have 4 1/2 months left to make my mark on this college and that’s exactly what I plan on doing. I don’t want to leave with anything left on the table. I already have SO many incredible memories and this semester I want to add even more.

3. FOCUS ON MY HEALTH. Over the last month or so, I’ve really lost focus on eating healthy and exercising regularly. I’ve been traveling nonstop for almost 3 weeks now and as fun as it’s been, I’m ready to get back into a regular routine. I’ve made it one of my major goals for 2011 to stop eating so much junk and getting back to healthy, nutritious meals.

4. LEARN TO COOK! This kind of goes along with goal #3 but cooking is something that’s always stumped me. I’ll be honest.. I don’t even really know how to boil an egg. I’m that tragic. BUT in order to be healthier, I feel that this is the next logical step. (So attention fellow bloggers—if you’ve got any easy recipes, send them my way!)

5. DON’T BURN DOWN MY APARTMENT. Okay, okay. This is really just an accompaniment to #4. But it had to be said. Winking smile

6. RUN MORE/LONGER RACES! I got hit with the running bug pretty hard this year and after running my first 2 5Ks, I’m hooked. In 2011, I’d like to run a 10K and possibly a half-mary, as well as more 5Ks. And hey, as of last night I now have a Garmin 305 (!!!!!!!) so I’m ready to go! Open-mouthed smile

7. LEARN TO RELAX! Okay, this is a big one for me. I’m the world’s worst relaxer. I think sometimes I pick up so many extracurricular activities and jobs just because I hate sitting still/feeling like if I’m not doing anything, then something’s wrong. For instance, at this very moment I’ve got a cold and need to be resting but somehow can’t bring myself to do it. Doing absolutely nothing at all and feeling no remorse is something I need help with fo’sho!

8. BE ORGANIZED!! I have major, MAJOR problems in this area. I’d show you my apartment right now but… it’s that embarrassing. I’m really going to make a conscious effort to be keep my things in order!

9. BE SPONTANEOUS! I’ve made MAJOR headway in this area and would like to continue on with it in 2011. There’s just something about making last second decisions that keeps life interesting. Winking smile 

10. FIGURE OUT MY FUTURE. This is a big one. And perhaps that’s why I saved it for last. I have 4 1/2 months left in college and it’s about time I start acting like it. My future is about as up in the air as it can get at the moment. Do I do business? Or stick with PT? Or go a completely different route altogether? I need to do some major soul searching and figure out what it is that I’m meant to do in this world.

 So there you have it. 2011 is a BIG year for me for various reasons and it’s about time I make goals and stick with them. As sad as I am to see 2010 go, I know that 2011 has definite potential to be even better. Fingers crossed

To all of my fellow bloggers out there—good luck with your goals as well! I’ve enjoyed reading them! You all are so very inspiring! Open-mouthed smile 

-Sarah Peace

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 5, 2011 5:42 am

    You will do awesome! I frequently worry about burning down my house when I cook, too. I melted a cutting board in the oven once… damn, those things smoke!!

  2. January 16, 2011 6:58 pm

    sounds like we have something in common: i am super impatient and I can’t relax at all:
    my resolution for 2011: learn how to relax

    http://respacedgirl.blogspot.com/2011/01/preview-of-respaced-year-2011.html

    ur blog is great!
    Franzi

Leave a Reply

