Skip to content

The Joys of Being a Geek.

January 10, 2011

It has come to my own attention that I may or may not in fact be a geek. And I’m kind of okay with that. Winking smile

20101029_1

This certainly wasn’t a new revelation or anything surprising, but more or less something I’ve come to grips with over the years. But what was it that sent me over the edge?

This my friends.

20110110_4

Why yes, that is an actual wand. Professor Dumbledore’s no less. I received it as a gift for Christmas. And you know what? I kind of love it. I’m not really sure what I’m suppose to do with it (accio running shoes?) but it’s fun to look at nevertheless. Who knew that upon his dying will he would give it to me? Winking smile

As I said, there were other signs of my geekdom that occurred way before this however.

My love affair with Sperrys.

20110110_8

My incessant planner decorating… or maybe the fact that I spent $25 on my newest one.

20110110_10

My obsession with Wordmole (any other Blackberry users out there?!), Words with Friends, Scrabble… and pretty much every other word game known to man.

20110110_12

My love of all things Glee. There’s a good chance I sat down last night and watched 5 episodes back-to-back. I have a problem. (And seriously Cory Monteith—we’re getting married)

image

Source

Or perhaps my knack for finding any and every karaoke joint located within a 20 mile radius of where I’m located? Sweet Caroline anyone? (Oh and did I mention that my roommate just got Glee Karaoke for Wii? Umm, my universe’s are colliding as we speak!)

image

Source

And finally, my weird weather infatuation. Did I ever tell you that as a kid I was so obsessed (ok and scared!) of tornados that every night for TWO years I left my TV on the weather channel just IN CASE there was a tornado warning while I was sleeping? Now, mind you I live in the mountain of Southwest Virginia and the odds of a tornado happening here are…. oh, about 3,000,000 to one. Yeah.  And I might have mistaken a street cleaner for a tornado at one point in time and ran into the bathroom screaming and crying and hiding behind the toilet. What can I say, weather IS scary. But at the ripe age of 23, I now just enjoy watching the weather forecast, and the weather channel, and Al Roker. (And for the record, I no longer keep the TV on the weather channel while I’m sleeping… Winking smile)

20110108_52

Oh and while we’re on the subject of weather, I would like to post a picture of what our frat boy neighbors did to our  front door on Saturday. Go figure.

20110108_37

I guess it’s a good thing we have a side door as well?

So, there you have it. I’m a geek. And totally proud of it. In fact, I’m so proud I’m having a geek-chic themed birthday party come February. Gotta rock what you’ve got, that’s what I always say. Winking smile

What about you? Are you a geek? And if so, are you embracing your inner geekdom? Nerd smile 

Have a fabulous Monday!

Sarah Peace

13 Comments leave one →
  1. January 10, 2011 4:40 pm

    Geek for sure… Oh well.. Geekness includes the Star Walk app on my ipad that allows me to point it the direction of the sky and find stars… hehe..

  2. January 10, 2011 5:02 pm

    I am definitely a geek 🙂 I really want to do karaoke again! None of my friends will go with me!

  3. January 10, 2011 8:30 pm

    I’m a geek! And a gleek! I wish I had the Glee Kareoke! Also, so jealous you have a wand!

  4. January 11, 2011 3:07 am

    Hey Sarah I just found your blog! I’m a senior in college too!
    I lovee Glee and think it’s super awesome that you got Dumbledores wand! haha

  5. January 11, 2011 12:51 pm

    I’m a geek at heart 🙂 and I do about half the things you do! haha

  6. January 11, 2011 4:53 pm

    This post really made me smile. Geeks: people who embrace what everyone else loves, but are too afraid to admit. Unite!

  7. January 15, 2011 7:50 pm

    im not a blackberry user, whats an equivalent iphone word game? im jealous.

    • January 15, 2011 7:53 pm

      Words with Friends is fun! I have it on my iPod touch! It’s like scrabble and you can play with people from all over the world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

