Skip to content

It’s Something Unpredictable…

April 20, 2011

Oh. My. God.

We’re down to the bitter end folks.

It just hit me this morning at 4AM (don’t ask) that after this week, I only have ONE full week left in my undergraduate career. Holy crap.

So I guess it’s only appropriate that with only a handful of weeks left, I participated in two of the coolest events of my ENTIRE undergraduate career this past weekend. Smile

First up—the inauguration of the University of Virginia’s new President! My college is UVA’s only sister institution and as our student representative on the Board of Directors, I was invited to participate along with a  few other student leaders. It was… incredible. First of all, I’m totally jealous that Kath gets to live in Charlottesville! It’s such a chill town and I totally want to go back ASAP! (I’ve been before but when I was too young to appreciate the hip-ness of it all Winking smile) And second of all, I got to robe in THE rotunda. The oldest building on campus. Jefferson’s dream library. The center of campus. There were only three students invited to dress in there period. UVA’s student member of the board, UVA’s Student Council President, and ME. And not only that, I was robed (yes, someone robed me) in the same room as the incoming President. No big deal. Winking smile It was one of the most amazing experiences of my entire life. And then at the actual inauguration ceremony, I sat in the FRONT row. I think I’m still on cloud 9 thinking about it.

20110416_58

Side view of the rotunda.

20110416_64

The dome room in the rotunda. The books in here were amazing.

20110416_75

View from the front row looking back. Smile

20110416_86

Walking back to the rotunda.

20110416_91

On the steps of the rotunda. Smile 

And now on to one of the second most incredible things I’ve done in my undergraduate career.

As a part of the inauguration, on Saturday my college participated along with UVA in a day full of service activities. Our students engaged in everything from cleaning up our campus, to helping out at a local food pantry, to working at a homeless shelter. It was incredible to see all of my fellow students out there doing good things in the community. But that’s not the best part. It’s no secret that I’m big on doing slide shows for my sorority. I am doing them constantly for recruitment and other events. I take pride in them. And apparently word got out about my affinity for them. As a member of the planning committee for this day, I was charged with being THE person to make a slideshow of the day and send it to UVA for their viewing pleasure. Did I mention that the Day of Service ended at 2PM on Saturday and I had to have it ready and uploaded by 3PM?! Oh and that a view thousand people would have access to watching it at UVA’s celebration dinner?! No big deal.

Needless to say I finished it with minutes to spare, uploaded it to Youtube, and the rest is history. Oh and it’s now not only on my college’s official webpage but UVA’s inauguration website. In other words—a big deal. Open-mouthed smile It’s not my greatest work with only an hour to really work with it but I’m still proud. I’ve gotten so many compliments!

 

So, so, so, SO cool. And only in college could I do all of this and then immediately go to a rocking fraternity party later that night. Did I mention I love college?!

Needless to say, it was a great weekend. Now if only someone will HIRE me! Winking smile

So what do the next few have in store for me?

Lots of presentations (I have my senior capstone presentation on Tuesday! Wish me LUCK!), the Student Leadership Awards Banquet on Friday (I’m up for the biggest award of the night!), a fraternity formal (I was asked last week!), the spring formal, my last sorority meeting as a collegian, my final college board meeting, lots of reminiscing and nostalgia with my best friends, and of course…… GRADUATION

For all of you in college—live it up! It goes by waaaay too quickly not to! Enjoy every moment! With only a few weeks left, I’ve realized that I’ve gotten everything out of my college experience that I wanted coming in. I’ve made friends that will stick with me for a lifetime, I’ll be graduating Magna Cum Laude (YESSSSIR!), I’ve gotten involved on campus, I’ve had a rocking social life, I’ve done things I never thought I could or would do (tattoo!), and most importantly, I have NO regrets.

It doesn’t get much better than that kiddos.

SarahPeace

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

