Skip to content

The Three Letters that Changed My Life.

May 1, 2011
tags:

So, I think it’s pretty obvious that I’m in a sorority.

I don’t know that I’ve ever alluded to which one (although from my pictures you can tell) but for the past three years of my life, I’ve been a loyal and dedicated sister of Phi Sigma Sigma.

image

My very first picture as a Phi Sig. Can you spot me?!

To say that being a part of this sorority has changed my life would probably be an understatement. Those on the outside looking in can’t quite understand it but the bonds you form between your sisters are some of the strongest you’ll ever experience.

20081124_115

Checking out Christmas lights, my first semester in!

The ladies I’ve been lucky enough to call my sisters have made me the person I am today. They’ve taught me more than I can put into words. They’ve lifted  me up, they’ve encouraged me to follow my dreams, they’ve supported me in every single decision I’ve ever made, they were all there for me during one of the toughest times of my entire life, and I know that no matter where I go in life or what I do, they’ll always be there to support me 100%.

anna-sarah 

My best friend and sorority sister.

I hate when people say that I’m just “paying for my friends.” As the old quote goes, if I’m paying for my friends, then I’m surely not paying enough. Never have I been a part of such a dynamic and inspiring group of women, period. Over the course of the last 3 years, I’ve gotten to meet and be a part of a group that inspires me to be my very best, day in and day out. These girls just aren’t my sisters, they’re my best friends… they’re my FAMILY.

pyramid

My family.

And the sorority as a whole has done so incredibly much for me. So much that it would take pages upon pages to write about but I’ll do my best to sum it up. Before joining Phi Sigma Sigma, I was lost. For the first time in my life, I quit something–Softball. Softball had been there for me for most of my life—some of my first memories are of being out on a field catching grounders. After quitting, I had no idea what was in store for me. I had always had that support system there for me in terms of my teammates but I was unsure of where to go and what to do next. Luckily for me, two of my good friends had just joined a sorority the semester before me and encouraged me to go out for recruitment in Fall of 2008. Sorority? Me? No thanks. I pretty much laughed in their faces at first. Seriously. But then I took a closer look and decided that I needed to do something. I needed a support system and a group that I could relate to so I decided why not give it a shot. Who knew that it would turn out to be the best decision I made in college? 

20110430_66-1

Some of our graduating seniors.

They say going through recruitment that you know immediately where you belong. And I can say without a doubt a statement has never been truer. As soon as I walked up to the Phi Sigs for the first time, my decision was made. I felt this instantaneous connection with a group of girls I didn’t even know (besides my two friends who just happened to be Phi Sigs too.. more on them later…). They made me feel like I belonged. They made me feel excited about the prospect of joining them. But most importantly, they gave me that direction I was missing before when I felt so lost.

20110430_75-1

My two “littles”. So proud of them.

Luckily for me, they liked me too and in September 2008, I was extended a bid to join them and I gladly accepted. From the very beginning, it was a whirlwind journey. Learning founders, reciting the Greek alphabet, learning about our history, navigating Greek life as a whole…but as tough as it was at first, I never once had any doubts that the decision I made was wrong. I relished every moment. The group of girls I was surrounded with encouraged and supported me every step of the way. There was no hazing, only a deep love for Phi Sigma Sigma.

 20110407_15

Greek Week CHAMPS! One of my favorite memories.

I was initiated in October of 2008 and my life has never been the same since. People often ask me how I became so involved on campus and so successful during my time in college and the answer is simple—Phi Sigma Sigma. It’s not rocket science. Being a part of something bigger than anything I ever could have imagined inspired me to go out and be a better person. Be a better friend. Be a better sister. Be a better leader. I attribute all of my success to the very first executive board position I held in Phi Sigma Sigma—Panhellenic Delegate. I received the honor of representing our chapter right after initiation and it literally lit a fire in me that I can’t explain. It was the confidence that my sisters put in me that made me realize I wanted to go on and do bigger and better things not only for our chapter but for myself. They had given me the self confidence that I had been lacking for so long.

20110407_10-1

See what I mean about self confidence? I’m wearing men’s underwear…over my shorts.

And you know what else Phi Sigma Sigma gave me? A life. For so long I had been so concerned about softball and school and everything else that comes with it that I missed out on the true college experience! I was going to class, going to softball practice, doing homework, and that was it. I wasn’t going out on the weekends making new friends and memories. And parties? Those were a foreign concept to me. I was sitting in my dorm room WISHING I could be doing all of that. But Phi Sigma Sigma gave me that life I had so graciously wanted. I’ve met more people that I can even tell you! And not just random people (although there have been some!) but people who have made a huge impact on my life.

20110130_14

Celebrating Mardi Gra… sort of.

The two that have made the biggest impact on my life? My two best friends. Remember those two girls that encouraged me to check out recruitment? Yeah, they turned out to be the two greatest people I’ve met in my entire life. And it’s just an added bonus that they wear the same letters I do. We have been through so much together. Good times, bad times, but mostly pure craziness. We thrive off of each other and can literally tell each other anything. Growing up, that’s what I always wanted. Sure, I had “best” friends but I say that lightly because until I met these two, I never knew what that meant. If it’s possible to have soul mates in the form of friends, then these two are certainly it. And the fact that I found two just means I’m the luckiest girl in the world.

20110227_44

After we “kidnapped” our chapter’s mascot. We made ransom notes. Winking smile

20110410_16-1

Before our last sorority formal.

So, to wrap it all up, Phi Sigma Sigma will forever have a special place in my heart. The three years I spent as an active member of the sisterhood have been the greatest three years of my entire life—no exaggerating. Tonight as I go to my last meeting as a collegian, I look back on my first meeting and chuckle as I realize I had NO idea what I was getting myself into. I had no idea that three letters (and Greek at that!) could change my life so drastically for the better. Pictures may get deleted, my letter shirts will slowly disappear, but the memories I’ve made will stay with me for the rest of my life.

20110410_98-1

20110430_87-1

Bachelorette Party 292

20110321_44

Us Phi Sigs… we have a saying. And never have I found it to be more true than this moment right now.

“Once a Phi Sigma Sigma…. ALWAYS a Phi Sigma Sigma.”

20110430_133-1

Thank you Phi Sigma Sigma. To you I am forever grateful.

LITP,

Sarah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 12, 2011 12:18 am

    That’s really interesting – I’m Irish so there are no sororities or fraternities here, but it does sound like something that would be a good idea. I think I would have liked to have that at my college.

    • May 12, 2011 1:18 pm

      Yeah, it definitely has been one of the coolest things I’ve done in college! It’s a shame ya’ll don’t have it there!
      And what part of Ireland?! I looooove Ireland! 🙂

Leave a Reply

