Skip to content

Here Goes Nothing…

May 22, 2011

Well my friends, as of tomorrow, I’ll be starting my first “big girl” job ever!

Wait… what?

How did this girl–a hard partying, sorority-loving, total college junkie–turn into a fortified member of the working class society?

Blows me.

IMG_0009

As of 9AM tomorrow, I will be a full-time employee at one of the top banks in the country. Yeah, I’ll be starting out pretty low on the totem pole but as I’ve told everyone else, I’m really, REALLY looking forward to the challenge. More than I can even express in words.

My entire life, I’ve loved being the underdog. I’ve loved having to claw and fight for everything I’ve gotten. And this is no different. I’m going into this job with the mindset that I can do anything I set my mind to. Of course, at the same time I’m certainly nervous because let’s face it, I never really pictured myself working in a bank. What if I hate it? What if I get sucked into something that I can’t get out of? Or at least wait until it’s too late to get out of? I want a career, not a job.

I’m trying to remain cautiously optimistic about the whole thing. We’ll see what happens.

So, moving on.

How has my first week of post-grad life been so far?

Surprisingly boring. Very boring. I don’t know if you’re aware but during college, I was literally busy most days from 9AM-11PM. Seriously. Giving me an entire week off is not good for my sanity.

224148_1676786570694_1568370003_31293423_5545587_n.jpg
I’ve worked out more times than I can count. Ran more than a few miles. Watched way too much TV. And not to mention, up until Friday the weather here was horrible! Can we say… full blown cabin fever?!?!

IMG_0025
That being said, with so much time on my hands, I’ve developed a few goals/projects/challenges for myself that will take place during the course of this summer. I won’t go into too much detail now but they will commence as soon as I’m back from training in two weeks! I’m definitely excited to get started and share them on the blog! I’ll give you one hint–one of the challenges may or may not center around a half-marathon… !!! 😉
More exciting news?
My best friends and I found a house together! FINALLY! As we will all be around here for the first few years of our post-grad life, of course it was decided that we would live together. These two girls mean the WORLD to me and I’ve lived with both of them separately and cannot WAIT to finally all be together. Odds are there will be more than a few crazy shenanigans to document.

20110501_18-1
Oh and there may or may not be a boy slowly entering the picture. Okay, well, he’s always been in the picture but in a new capacity. 😉
Until next time…

IMG_0021
-Sarah

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 24, 2011 5:26 am

    Good luck with your first post-college job!!

Leave a Reply

