Skip to content

oh hey there.. don’t mind me.

May 30, 2013

So, I feel like when “normal” bloggers take a hiatus, it’s for a month or two. Am I right? 

Well… I’ve never been “normal” and so two years it was. It happens, right?! 

I use to love this blog. I enjoyed sitting down at my computer and writing about my life. And I won’t lie, two years later and it’s SO MUCH FUN to look back on my senior year of college and all of the crazy shenanigans that went down. But then I graduated college. And got a “real” job. And life just kind of got in the way for a while. But… I’ve had the itch to start my blog back up for a while now and decided summer’s getting ready to start, I’ve got more time on my hands, life is about to get pretty interesting so… what better time than now? I changed the name back to the original, made a new header (terrible, I know. Anyone good at photo shop?), and am ready to sit back and catch anyone that might still have me on their reader up on my life as of late. 

Here goes nothing?!

Image

because it’s only appropriate to insert a cat picture…amiright?

As I was sitting here thinking about where to start, I looked at the last entry I posted for some inspiration (the same last entry in which I stated I was back to blogging again… ha ;)) and realized that I left off on a prettttty major cliffhanger–the prospect of a new job. I was unhappy with my job at the bank and was looking for something more fulfilling and meaningful when, HELLO, opportunity knocked on my door. And I’m happy to say that a week after that last post, I received the phone call (on my way to the beach mind you) that I was looking for. I GOT IT! And two years later, here I am. I’m the Assistant Director of Student Activities & Recreation at the college where I graduated. Although it’s not what I want to do for the rest of my life (and will be going back to school soon–more on that later!), it has by far been probably the coolest job I ever could have imagined. I’ve been skydiving, ziplining, skiing, done multiple races, traveled, came up with some crazy ideas, and have had the best time doing it. Not to mention I have the BEST co-workers imaginable. Seriously. 

Image

Just flying through the air… no big deal.

I guess what I’m trying to say is–it was a good fit.

In my last entry I also talked about living with my best friends. Well, we no longer live together… but we’re still best friends. 🙂 DUH! Literally don’t know what I would have done without them these past two years. They’ve seen me at my best and at my worst and still think I’m pretty okay. 🙂 One moved an hour away to grad school and the other moved 6 hours away to Richmond (this past week actually!). I’m sad we’re no longer within a few feet of each other at all times but I’m so  incredibly happy that we’re all going after our dreams. They inspire me each and everyday. 🙂

Image

 

And of COURSE the whole boy thing had to come up at some point, right? Well………….. again, I’m happy to report that we’re still holding strong. 🙂 Our two year anniversary is coming up in August so that’s pretty awesome, right? Oh and we’re moving in together next week. 🙂 We’ve had a few ups and downs and bumps in the road (like everyone!) but I can honestly say that he is my very best friend. He STILL gives me butterflies. I can’t wait to see what our future holds! 

Image

 

What other random tidbits of information can I throw out there?

Within the last year I’ve really begun taking my fitness seriously. I FINALLY lost that 20 pounds I’d been wanting to lose for sometime (still have about 10 to go to hit my goal weight but I’ll get there in time) AND I ran my first half marathon! That was totally a bucket list item I wasn’t sure would ever get checked off but I did it! I learned a LOT about myself during those 13.1 miles–mostly that I can do anything I put my mind to! (cheesy but true) I’ve also decided that I want to make fitness/healthy living my career of choice. I’m currently researching nutrition programs and would like to start school again this fall/winter to become a registered dietitian. (is it just me or is every blogger a dietitian?!) It’s pretty daunting but as I’ve learned over the last couple of years–the things that scare you the most are usually the most rewarding. 

Image

 

Other pretty substantial things that have happened in the last two years?

-I became an aunt for the first time and my niece is pretty awesome–not going to lie. 

Image

 

-my sister got married!

-I’ve become a “runner” and it’s awesome

-The thought of buying new furniture now excites me (WTF)

-My weekends now consist of early morning workouts, random adventures, cleaning, movies, and early bed times (stark contrast to my college days!)

I could name off a million more things but they’re all quite boring. Just know this–in the last two years of my life, I’ve grown as a person, I’ve experienced heartache, joy, utter exhaustion, disappointment, stress (real stress!), I’ve had moments of brilliance and weakness, I’ve struggled to figure out who I am  on numerous occassions, I’ve changed my mind more times than I can count, I’ve moved twice, I’ve had to make my first “real” decisions about my life and the direction I want to take it in, but most of all I’ve lived life..and a pretty darn good one at that. 

Image

I’d like to say “I’m back” but we see what happened last time. So I’ll say this–I hope that my next update won’t be two years from now. But if it is, I hope you have a fantastic two years. 

Sarah

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

