Skip to content

Weekend Shenanigans

June 3, 2013

So, since I’m “back”, I had to jump on the weekend shenanigans bandwagon. Most of my weekends aren’t really worthy of a post but either way, they’re still fun to write about.

Sami's Shenanigans

(Okay and for the record–totally had more pictures from my weekend but my phone was being ridic so I went on a deleting spree… whoops. Who knew I’d be participating in my first linkup?! Totally win the “bad blogger” award this week.)

wknd1

This weekend my work crew, 12 students, and I ย headed to Pigeon Forge, TN for a summer outdoor recreation trip. Reason #10918208 my job is pretty fantastic. Friday we hit up Dollywood and basically walked 1098120398 miles, road every ride in the park and my coworkers and I decided that we were going to be badasses and be known as the Heisenbergs that day (we are all OBSESSED with Breaking Bad… anyone else out there watch it?!).

Friday night a few of us headed into downtown Gatlinburg and had a blast. I think I ate every carb in sight at Mellow Mushroom and then proceeded to walk even more after dinner. BUT brightside–it was the PERFECT summer night. Something I’ve been waiting on for a while now. It’s been an unusually cold spring so it was nice to walk around without a sweatshirt on all. the. time.

Saturday it was time for Splash Country. Okay. I’ll be the first to admit I HATE water parks. This day did absolutely nothing to change my mind. ha. Rides were great; having my shoes stolen… not so great. Waiting in line for an hour and a half? Terrible. The sun/sidewalk ripping a billion layers of skin off the bottom of my feet? WTFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFFF. The good news is that I came away with only a minor sun burn and didn’t have to pay an arm and a leg for new shoes. But seriously– I had a great time and again, the weather was perfect.

Saturday night we headed to Dixie Stampede. Food=AMAZING. Show=CHEESY. You win some and lose some I guess?

Sunday we were suppose to head to Dollywood again but we woke up and it was POURING outside so an early trip back home it was. I can’t complain–I was ready to get back for Pizza Sunday and Peter! Back in September 2012, Peter and I started the tradition of Pizza Sunday–in the beginning we either ordered out or bought a funky Wal-Mart crust, added some toppings, and called it a day. Now it’s grown into a really fun tradition–we make our own crust and come up with ย crazy, sometimes good, sometimes bad topping ideas. Last night was pretty simple–LOTS OF VEGGIES! It was delicious! Yesterday also consisted of a few walks, lots of rain, lots of relaxing, and an early bedtime. BASICALLY my idea of a perfect Sunday.

That was my weekend in a nutshell! I usually dread Mondays but I’m looking forward to this week–Peter & I are moving into our first apartment (!!), I get to see some of my best college girlfriends this weekend, running a 5K Saturday, and have a really fun Saturday night planned. Hope everyone has a great week! ๐Ÿ™‚

SS

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

